Teacher of the Year


On the occasion of CFE’s twenty‐fifth anniversary, the Board of Directors established the Debby Jannotta and Shirley Jaffee CFE Teacher of the Year award in honor of two outstanding volunteers who have been instrumental throughout our organization’s development and growth. This award is presented annually to a Chicago Public School teacher who, among other criteria: enhances the classroom experience and provides effective instruction to students; seeks opportunities to engage in professional development and share effective practices with colleagues; and has earned at least five CFE grants and is currently an active member of the CFE community.


Each award winner receives the opportunity to represent CFE teachers as a member of the CFE Board of Directors for a two-year term and a $1,000 stipend for classroom materials and/or professional development.


2017*: Kat Henry, Pulaski International School of Chicago

2015: Mona Iehl, Polaris Charter Academy

2014: Elizabeth Valente, Otis Elementary School

2013: Bob Hauser, Legacy Elementary Charter School

2012: Cara Bucciarelli, LaSalle II Elementary School

2011: Nicole Zumpano, May Elementary Community Academy**

2010: Monica Sims, Pershing West Middle School


*Selection process changes resulted in no award during the 2016 calendar year

**Now teaching at Coonley Elementary School